(08) 8182 2600

Thomas More College

Learn More · Live More · Be More
Home >  Blog >  2018 DUX Awards Assembly

2018 DUX Awards Assembly

Posted by Thomas More College on 22 February 2019
2018 DUX Awards Assembly
On Thursday, 14 February Thomas More College celebrated its 2018 Academic, Attitude and Special Award Winners from 2018. Given the influx of Year 7s, Old Scholars, parents and invited guests, this year we celebrated our biggest event ever with over 1000 people in our gymnasium, which was transformed into a place of appropriate celebration for the morning. Invited guests included:

David Knox, representative for Nick Champion MP, Federal Minister for Wakefield
The Deputy Mayor of Salisbury, Ms Julie Woodman
Catholic Education South Australia Principal Consultant Ms Sue Kennedy-Branford (also representing our Director, Neil McGoran)
Member of the Royal Australian Navy and Old Scholar, Able Seaman Dale Parry
Principal and Deputy Principal of St Augustine's Primary School, Ms Georgia Dennis and Ms Kerry Dent
Old Scholar, Dr Catherine White
Members of the graduating class of 2018.
The event was expertly hosted by our four College Leaders: Clare Innes, Jayden Nguyen (College Captains), Nikki Tai and Keenan Green (Vice Captains). Year Level Coordinators, each accompanied by a Member of the Executive, presented awards to each of the 8-12 2018 cohorts which fell into two categories:

The Exceptional Attitude Award, which acknowledges students who have applied themselves in all their subjects
The Academic Award, presented to students who have received excellent results in all subjects throughout the year.
Overall, 53 Exceptional Attitude Awards were presented along with 47 Academic Awards. In addition, Year 12 students from 2018 won individual subject awards. These awards are given to students undertaking SACE Stage 2 subjects, who have gained the highest achievement in each of the individual subjects. In addition, we acknowledged those Year 12 students who achieved A+ grades for subjects and three students from Thomas More College who achieved a Merit Award from the SACE Board, which places them in the top 1% of the state. Year 12 students who achieved an ATAR of 90 or above were also presented awards.

We heard stirring speeches from Old Scholar Dr Catherine White (MD) about her journey through schooling, University, life and towards becoming a successful medical doctor, as well as from our 2018 College Dux, Stalin Saji Eattimoottil, who achieved an ATAR of 98.90, two A+ grades (one with SACE Merit), and who has accepted a place to study Medical Radiation Science (Medical Imaging) at the University of South Australia.

Other notable award winners include:

Most Improved Student: Fiorentina Musolino
ADF Long Tan Leadership Award (Year 10) - Bradley Applebee
ADF Long Tan Leadership Award (Year 12) - Ben Tran
Mrs Barbara Candelli Business Excellence Award - Jacob Penny
Vanier Centre Personal Excellence Award - Samuel Byrne

Overall, we are very proud of the achievements of the 2018 Cohort. They are going to be tough to top next year!

Corey Tavella
Deputy Principal

Author:Thomas More College
Tags:Thomas More College

Learn More · Live More · Be More

Bookmark SiteTell a FriendPrint